The Maryland Cybersecurity Center was launched in Fall of 2010 under the leadership of the Center's first Co-Directors, Prof. Patrick O'Shea (chair of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering) and Prof. Larry Davis (chair of the Department of Computer Science). Ted Knight led the Center's early external relations and outreach efforts.

A launch event on campus in December 2010 attracted over 350 guests, and featured talks from former Director of National Intelligence (DNI) J. Michael "Mike" McConnell, Senator Benjamin Cardin, and industry leaders.

As interim director from 2011-2013, Prof. Michael Hicks led the center's early growth and helped establish the center in its current facility. As Deputy Director during that time, Eric Chapman was also instrumental in getting the center off the ground and establishing strong ties to industry.

Prof. Jonathan Katz was appointed director of the center in October 2013.

Prof. Michel Cukier served as Associate Director for Education from 2012-2017.

Clark School        UMIACS   CMNS